Techniques Challenge: One Stroke

I can’t believe I forgot to post these earlier in the week!

This was my first try at one stroke nails and I have to admit I don’t think I really had the right tools for it. My brush was short and square but I don’t think it’s a proper one stroke brush, and the acrylic paint I used is more like artist’s acrylic than craft acrylic.

Anyway, what I’m building up to saying is that it was really difficult! I knew it wasn’t the easiest technique and one which required a lot of practice, but it was still mildly disappointed at my terrible attempts!

I noticed that a lot of really nice one stroke nails also involve quite a bit of freehand outlining and detailing, so I decided to try a very simple bit of one stroke and then pretty it up with some freehand painting. I found this tutorial by Iva Noli for a simple butterfly design with just two little one stroke petals. I thought it was a good place to start!

It worked out really well and I loved my butterfly nails. I did manage to smudge my middle finger and tried to paint it back in but you can clearly see where it’s dotty paint and not one stroke. Nevermind. I’m really pleased with the rest of the nails and if I try one stroke again I’ll shell out for a better brush and some more liquids paints!

20140615-190118.jpg

One comment

I'd love to hear you comments! But please don't leave links to your blog - send me a message if you'd like me to check your blog out.