Techniques Challenge: Ikat

This is the first time I’ve tried an ikat mani and after looking at lots of pics of both ikat nail art and ikat fabrics I chose this pattern as my inspiration.

I liked the idea of doing a sponged gradient and then painting the ikat pattern over the top. I loved the warm fiery colours in the fabric and thought it would be the perfect choice.

I found the technique fairly easy although my polish went a bit thick and sticky on my middle finger so it doesn’t look great. I’m pretty pleased with the way the others have turned out though, especially as it’s my first time trying this technique.

20140327-000358.jpg

I used: Bring Me Peach – Catrice, Papaya Punch – China Glaze, Encore! – Ciaté, Victoria – Nails Inc, Wanna Say Hello – Essence, Notting Hill Carnival – Nails Inc

9 comments

I'd love to hear you comments! But please don't leave links to your blog - send me a message if you'd like me to check your blog out.

