Tri Polish Tuesday: Green, Purple and Blue Stained Glass Mani

I’ve seen several gorgeous stained glass style manis recently. One of my favourites is this one by Hannah of The Dalai Lama’s Nails. I thought I’d give it a try with some sparkly polishes for this week’s Tri Polish Tuesday.

I originally started with a much paler blue as the base colour and then painted random triangles and shapes in the purple and green. I ended up deciding that the pale blue didn’t balance well so I filled in all the space with a darker blue. Finally I used a striping brush to paint in the black lines. I thought about putting a border round the whole nail, but had a feeling it might end up looking a bit messy, so I left it as it is.

It was fun and easy to do and I liked the bold, bright result. I’ll almost certainly come back to this design and try and improve on it in the future.

The colours didn’t seem to come out well in the photos and we took a whole load of indoor and outdoor shots with different lighting to try and get the colours looking right. They look less vibrant in this pic than in real life but all the colours are about the right tone.

20140319-002358.jpg

I used: Violet Microglitter – Kiko, Pearly Peacock – Kiko, Azure – Rimmel, Lady in Black – OPI

5 comments

I'd love to hear you comments! But please don't leave links to your blog - send me a message if you'd like me to check your blog out.

