Tri Polish Tuesday: Green, Purple and Blue

I’m a day late on this one, but I’ve been improving on getting my posts out on time and regularly this year, so one little slip up doesn’t matter too much…
I absolutely love the colour scheme for March’s Tri Polish Tuesdays. They’re all colours I own loads of different shades of and enjoy using.
I decided to go with pastels shades for the first mani this month and liked the idea of a gradient across my nails.
I think it worked pretty well and I’m happy with the result but it wasn’t as simple as I thought it would be. I started with a white base and it took 5 rounds of sponging to get the colours to come out this strongly! Usually when I do a gradient three layers are enough, two if I’m using very vibrant colours. It also created way more mess than any other gradient I’ve tried and these pastel polishes were not easy to clean up! But it’s a pretty, girly and relatively subtle mani to start the month!

20140305-131554.jpg

I used: Mojito – Rituals, I Scream: Ice Cream! – Catrice, Play it Blue – Catrice

7 comments

  1. I swear I have tried the sponge method so many times and all I keep telling myself is not to give up. To date, I have yet to get it turn out well.

    1. Don’t give up! I use good quality make-up sponges which are quite smooth and not too textured and I usually put a white base layer on first. Several thin layers of sponging work better than one thick splodgy one. It’s messy but when you get a good result it’s worth it! Good luck!

  2. These have turned out really well, like you said subtle but still totally pretty. And your colour choices are totally appropriate for the season! I’ve yet to try an across the nail design…

  3. This is so pretty! At first glance, it looked like your nails were painted white, and there was some kind of neon light in the background reflecting onto your nails haha

I'd love to hear you comments! But please don't leave links to your blog - send me a message if you'd like me to check your blog out.

