Around the World Challenge: 5 – Casablanca

I have a LOT of catching up to do! I’m really behind on the Around the World Challenge and never finished off the Couture Nail Art Challenge – so I’ll try to catch up on those this week.

Casablanca was a difficult one for me. I’ve always wanted to go to Morocco but have to admit I know very little about the city of Casablanca. I did discover that the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca has the world’s tallest minaret and that it’s decorated with extremely beautiful tiles much like the ones you can see all over Andalucia from when it was part of the Arab Empire.

So after my success with detail on the 1920s nail art, I decided to try something even trickier – geometric Arabic patterns. However it turned out to be a bit of a fail. This was obviously waaay beyond my skill level and my lines are not straight enough and my eye for detail not sharp enough.

Not one of my proudest moments but here are my somewhat wonky Casablanca tiles nails.

20130604-221142.jpg

I used: My Boyfriend Scales Walls – OPI, Yellow – Sweets Sweet, Porchester Square – Nails Inc, Unfor-Greta-bly Blue – OPI, black acrylic paint.

I'd love to hear you comments! But please don't leave links to your blog - send me a message if you'd like me to check your blog out.

