Autumn Leaves

Here’s another one I should have posted a while ago… Around the end of November and beginning of December all my friends innJapan started posting their autumn leaf photos on Facebook. I was pretty jealous as autumn was by far my favourite season in Japan with all the gorgeous bright colours on the trees. We decided to have a weekend away and visit a little town here in Andalucia called Alhama de Granada which is known for its bright yellow autumn leaves. Some autumn leaf inspired nail art seemed a natural addition to the trip and I decided to try sponging for the first time.

20130117-193011.jpg

I took inspiration from this video by juliatmll. I was really pleased with the result of the sponging and it was much easier and less messy than I thought it would be, so definitely a technique I’ll be using more often.

I’m not sure stamping vet the top was such a good idea, and wasn’t part of my original plan, but I noticed that one of my stamp sets had Japanese maple leaves on them and decided to stamp some random red leaves on top of the sponged background.

I used: Kalahari Kiss – China Glaze, White – Bonbon, Shine Vintage Gold – Rimmel, Psychedelic Orange – Rimmel, Revlon Red – Red

Here are a couple of pics of the yellow leaf carpeted floor in Alhama de Granada which was a beautiful place to spend a few hours.

20130117-193831.jpg

20130117-193848.jpg

I'd love to hear you comments! But please don't leave links to your blog - send me a message if you'd like me to check your blog out.

